Saturday, June 14, 2008

Music From The Edge: Denine

Denine started her music career as a backup singer for the popular freestyle group Collage in the early 1990's. Wanting to be the center of attention, Denine convinced Collage member Adam Marano to help her get her own recording deal on their record label Viper Records (Collage's imprint for Metropolitan Records).

Denine's debut full-length CD hit the record stores October 14, 1994. The label had big hopes as Freestyle was making a minor comeback. But, nothing happened. Nothing. For two whole years.

Then after the CD was dead and buried, a local L.A. deejay decided to add "All Cried Out" to his "hit or miss" segment.....the song exploded on the predominately Latin station and began a crossover to the pop stations in L.A.

Soon, program directors across the country began to pick up the song. Denine's carreer was revived enough to re-release "To Be Continued" and to release "All Cried Out" as a CD5 with what the label hoped would be a second hit "I Only Wanted To Love You."

The single stalled on the Billboard Hot 100 chart at #72, but did manage a respectable #33 spot on Billboard's Rhythmic Top 40. These stats convinced Denine's label to go for it one more time (only with a CD5 instead of a full-length CD) titled, "Love of A Lifetime." It failed to chart.

Download: "All Cried Out" (CD5)
Bitrate: 320 kbps


1. All Cried Out
2. All Cried Out (Quiet Storm Mix)
3. I Only Wanted To Love You (Radio Mix)
4. I Only Wanted To Love You (Club Mix)
5. I Only Wanted To Love You (Jeep Beats)



Wednesday, June 11, 2008

Just a Random Thought

To be honest, I am trying to figure out where I want my blog to head. I am awed by the work that some of my fellow bloggers do - and the amount of time they commit to their craft....kudos!

Me on the other hand, I am "fly by the seat of my pants" with my blog - not purposeful for the most part. Maybe I should change that?

I post what I feel at the time.....and that usually surrounds music. Though I am not, for the most part...purposeful in posting, I certainly choose my musical tracks carefully.

So, that is my thought for the night. I appreciate all that come to my site and visit - I hope you find it comfortable and welcoming!


Tuesday, June 10, 2008

Music From The Edge: MTS

Real McCoy - they're not. Not even close! But MTS wanted to capitalize on the success of the genre of dance music that Real McCoy made popular. A studio group formed by independent record producer Tolga Katas (one of the founding fathers of "freestyle" who has produced tracks for Stevie B and Linear among many other freestyle artists), MTS had little but a CD5 to show for their efforts.

Not much more is known about this group, though they managed to get their track on several "DJ Only" pressings and dance compilations like Pure Energy Volume 4.

Download: "I'll Be Allright" - MTS (CD5)


1. Extended Dance Mix
2. Radio Mix
3. Club Mix
4. Instrumental Mix
5. Sythapella Mix


Sunday, June 08, 2008

Music From The Edge: She Moves

The Berman Brothers were trying very hard to recreate the success of their early nineties stars (Real McCoy & Amber) with a similar formula - sugary sweet, pop dance music. They felt that the combined efforts of Carla Duren, Danielle Flora, and Diana Bologna (all former New York Nicks City Dancers) would be the secret ingredient to great chart success.

The Berman Brothers (on their name alone) were able to get the girls signed to Geffen records in 1997, before they even had a name...eventually the trio settled on "She Moves"...and move they did to their first (and only) album, "Breaking All The Rules." (Released November 18, 1997). This was also the name of the lead off single from the album, which peaked at #32 on the Billboard Hot 100.

Even the moderate success of the first single did not move the album. Geffen decided that they would try a second single, and chose a ballad, "It's Your Love". Despite having remixes by the Berman Brothers and Love To Infinity (and a CD5 for the price of a CD Single), the track stalled out at #67 on the Billboard Hot 100.

She Moves failed to chart the album and Geffen, hurting from two unsuccessful attempts to break this artist gave up and walked away.

She Moves broke up soon after they were released from their recording contract, and have all found great success in other arenas.

Interesting sidenote - Tim McGraw and Faith Hill released "It's Your Love" in 1997 to Country Radio, where it not only was a #1 smash on Billboard's Hot Country Tracks & Singles Chart, but it also reached #7 on Billboard's Hot 100, receiving a Grammy nomination and multiple ACM awards.

Download: "It's Your Love" (CD5)

1. LP Version
2. Love to Infinity Radio Mix
3. Love to Infinity Classic Paradise Mix
4. Love To Infinity Groove Mix
5. Berman Brother's Dance Mix
6. Every Time You Touch Me (I Get High)

Bonus Download:

"It's Your Love" - Tim McGraw & Faith Hill
Bitrate: 128kbps